RSS Feed

Weekday fare

Posted on

Previously I wrote that my lunch usually consists of a salad and that I consider asparagus a weekend lunchtime treat.  My weekday meals are really quite dull, with the exception of dinner.  It’s a combination of time pressure, wanting to cut calories, and trying to eat a balanced diet that leads to some rather uninspired but relatively healthy meals.

Breakfast typically looks like this: a slice of whole-grain toast with butter and a cup of chicory drink with hazelnut milk.

coffee

toast

Sometimes it’s a nice homemade loaf with spelt, rye or hemp flour, but most of the time it’s just this store-bought stuff.  The problem with homemade bread is that I’m rarely content to stop with one slice, so although the nutrition might be superior, the temptation to overeat cancels out the benefits.

Lunch usually consists of a bowl of yoghurt or quark and a green salad.  Sometimes I’ll make a salad dressing, such as the black sesame seed one in this picture, but often I just toss in some black olives and pour a bit of flax oil on it.

poppyseed_on_black

In the late afternoon I often feel peckish and eat a bit of fruit.

That’s how I eat on a good weekday.  Most weekdays are good days, but I’m not someone who enjoys healthy food so much that I’m not at all tempted to eat junk food.  It’s something I have to work at, every day.  Having my meals already prepared is the main way I avoid temptation.  I prepare my lunch in the evening, when I’m heating dinner, and take it to the office.  I prepare my dinners on the weekend, so that they only require minimal preparation after a long day at the office.  I don’t keep much junk food in the house and I prepare my shopping list with the week’s meals in mind and try to stick with the list.

I’ve been eating like this for a number of years, and it has gotten easier, but I don’t think it will ever be effortless.  I envy people who genuinely love vegetables.

Leave a Reply

