RSS Feed

More berry salads

Posted on

Since I made a berry salad, I’ve been using this approach to satisfy my cravings for sweets.  First I bought some strawberries, raspberres and cherries specifically for the salad but used the dressing and almonds I had left over from the previous salad.

salad

It was pretty good, but the raspberries were somewhat sour.  For the next salad, I turned the remaining raspberries into a dressing and put fresh strawberries, cherries and blueberries into the salad.  To make the dressing I blended the raspberries with a small amount of wet mustard, a pinch of salt and pepper, a little bit of balsamic vinegar, a bit of lemon juice, some agave syrup and flax oil.

salad

I also replaced the sugared almonds with salted caramel almonds.  To make them I first browned the almonds in a little bit of butter then set them aside.  In a saucepan, I melted two tablespoons of sugar and continued cooking until it was lightly brown.  Then I added a small knob of butter and once it melted tossed in the almonds and some salt.  I dumped them in a glass baking dish which I’d lightly buttered and broke them apart when they were cool.  The result was delicious!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Batch Cooking: Quinoa and Beans, Four Meals | TMI Food

Leave a Reply

