RSS Feed

Almond Liqueur Cake

Posted on

cake3

cake4

My friends recently brought me some lovely almond liqueur from Portugal which is so smooth and delicious I couldn’t help but imagine it moistening and flavouring a cake.

cake1

I wanted to start with a simple and plain cake recipe. I used Carla’s hot milk sponge cake from the More-with-Less Cookbook by Doris Janzen Longacre. Once the cake had cooled, I pierced it with a metal skewer and poured about two and a half shots of liqueur over it, which the cake greedily absorbed. I finished the cake with a chocolate ganache made using some lovely Spanish chocolate another friend gave me.

cake2

cake5

Rating: Tasty – I will probably make it again

Leave a Reply

