RSS Feed

Oatmeal Pumpkin Chia Bread

Posted on

bread1

This is another milk bread, which is my bread of choice because it stays soft and fresh for days, which is helpful when you know the bread won’t be completely eaten the day it is made. I added oat flakes to the scalded milk and melted butter and then added the yeast when it cooled. I combined this with a mix of wheat and rye flour, salt, lemon juice, chia seeds and pumpkin purée. After the first rise,when the bread was shaped, I brushed it with milk, sprinkled oat flakes on top, and cut it.

bread2

The pumpkin was not part of my original plan for this loaf, but after baking a pumpkin earlier in the week and preparing pumpkin pancakes (twice), pumpkin hemp bread and pumpkin cake, I still had some purée left which need to be used. I like the golden colour it gives the loaf and the flavour in the pumpkin hemp loaf was unobtrusive, so I figured I’d make use of the pumpkin before it went bad. Next time I should buy a smaller pumpkin, or prepare for pumpkin to again invade most of what I cook for a week!

I should probably also consider replacing my silicon bread pan with a firmer pan as the bread tends to bulge a lot at the sides (the overly-deep cut didn’t help, either).

bread3

Leave a Reply

