RSS Feed

Salted Caramel Vanilla “Custard” Pie

Posted on

pie2

I liked the vegan freezer salted caramel chocolate pie, but the proportion of chocolate to salted caramel was a bit too high for me. I decided to add another layer under the salted caramel, a vanilla custard. I made the layer using a variation of this vegan eggnog recipe. I made the egg mix without the cloves, and let it thicken a little further. I then froze the bottom layer while I prepared the next two layers. I used agave syrup as the sweetener for this layer. Unfortunately after I had already prepared the layer it occurred to me that it would form ice crystals. Next time I will either add coconut oil, as in the other layers, or else a bit of brandy.

pie

The other layers I made using the same modifications I made the last time I tried it.

Leave a Reply

